After I made my pochette fiddle, I realised that I was lacking a couple of key tools – in particular, I lacked curved soled luthier’s planes to scallop down the sides of the belly rise, so I decided to do something about it at last.

I went on ebay and found a set of four lovely looking brass planes. But I wasn’t sure of the finish, how well made they would be, and whether I could get used to using them.

I put in what I felt was a reasonable bargain bid. And sure enough I was beaten to it. The next morning, however, I woke and checked my email, and there was an email from the seller offering me a second chance to buy it at my last bid price as the other buyer had pulled out. So I took the plunge.

Luthier planes

And when the planes arrived I was delighted. Not only are they of excellent quality, but I find them quite easy to use too. They will see a lot of use on my next pochette. The work with the grain or across it. But I may still look out for some serrated blades so they will plane in all directions equally well.

luthier's planes

Cheers
Jerry

